200 In Just 136 Balls: Pathum Nissanka Breaks 24-Year-Old Record Held By Sanath Jayasuriya

Feb 9, 2024

Pathum Nissanka became the first Sri Lankan to score an ODI double century, helping the hosts post a mammoth total of 381 against Afghanistan in the series opener in Pallekele on Friday. The opener remained unbeaten on 210, breaking the island nation's long-standing record of Sanath Jayasuriya's 189 against India in 2000. This was also the joint fifth highest individual score in ODIs. Sri Lanka's 381–3 was also their highest score at the ground and the team's fourth highest score on record.

Ajayi Nissanka's innings included 20 fours and eight sixes while facing 139 balls in his first ODI after the World Cup. In the 27th over, Avishka Fernando scored 88 runs and was caught out at backward point off the ball of Ibrahim Zadran.

Captain Kusal Mendis took the crease, but failed to make an impact and was out for 16 runs. Sadira Samarawickrama scored 44 runs in 36 balls in her 120-run partnership with Nissanka.

Farid Ahmed claimed the wickets of Samarawickrama and Fernando with 2-79.

Earlier, Afghanistan won the toss and elected to bowl first in the first match of the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka in Pallekele on Friday.

The visitors opted to field four fast bowlers for the game, as all-rounder Rashid Khan was ruled out of the squad as he recovers from back surgery last month.

Sri Lanka's Pramod Madushan was selected over bowling all-rounder Chamika Karunaratne.

The hosts won the only Test of the tour by 10 wickets and the current series will be followed by three T20Is, all of which will be held in Dambulla.

Sri Lanka: Kusal Mendis (captain, wicketkeeper), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadira Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Zenith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mahesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Pramod Madushan.

Afghanistan: Hashmatullah Shahidi (captain), Ibrahim Zadran, Ikram Alikhil, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Rahmat Shah, Azmatullah Omarzai, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Farid Ahmed, Fazalhaq Farooqui, Noor Ahmed.

Topics mentioned in this article

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *