Australia Star Gets Hit-Wicket While Slamming A Six, Yet Given Not Out. Here’s Why

Feb 10, 2024


The Australia star got hit-wicket while hitting a six, yet was given not out.  here's why

a glimpse of the event© Twitter




A very strange incident was captured during the third women's ODI match between Australia and South Africa in Sydney on Saturday. Australia captain Alyssa Healy won the toss and decided to bat first. The hosts scored 277/9 in 50 overs with Beth Mooney and Healy scoring 82* and 60 respectively. For the Proteas, Masabata was the best bowler of the class, taking four wickets. However, an unusual incident occurred in the 48th over which left fans and commentators confused.

In the 48th over, Alana King played a strong shot on Klaas's full toss ball, which went over the boundary rope for six runs. While playing the shot, King swung his bat in such a way that the ball hit the stumps.

However, he was not declared out hit-wicket as the height of the delivery was above King's waist and it was ruled a no-ball. This was a very strange incident as a maximum, out and no-ball occurred on the same ball.

Talking about the match, Australia lost the early wicket of Phoebe Litchfield but Healy and Mooney brought the hosts back into the game. Apart from him, Tahlia McGrath also played an important inning of 44 runs in 35 balls.

For the visitors, Class took four wickets and helped South Africa restrict Australia to 277/9. Apart from her, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Elise-Marie Marx and Marizanne Kapp took one wicket each.

The three-match ODI series between Australia and South Africa is currently tied at 1-1.

Topics mentioned in this article



Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *