BCCI and Cricket Australia extend Border-Gavaskar Trophy to five Tests | Cricket News


New Delhi: Board of Control for Cricket in India (bcci) and Cricket Australia (CA) have confirmed that Border-Gavaskar Trophy Five Tests will be played next summer.
For the first time since 1991-92, Australia and India will play a five-Test series this summer. The expanded Border-Gavaskar Trophy series will be the highlight of the 2024-25 domestic summer calendar, with details to be announced in the coming days.
Jai ShahThe BCCI Secretary said, “The BCCI is committed to preserving the rich heritage of Test cricket, a format we hold in high regard.
“Our continued partnership with Cricket Australia to expand the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to five Tests reflects our shared commitment to developing and enhancing the importance of Test cricket.
“This expansion reflects our common objective of enhancing the essence of Test cricket and preserving its legacy. As India and Australia unite, we look forward to a spectacular performance that will enthrall fans around the world with its energy and enthusiasm.” Will attract.”
mike bairdThe CA president said, “Given the tremendous rivalry between our two great cricketing nations and the excitement it generates, we are thrilled that the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been extended to five Test matches.
“The cricket world will be watching Australia, and I am confident that Pat Cummins' world champion team will be able to overcome the quality and depth of the Indian team, which has performed brilliantly here to win the last two series and reclaim the trophy .
“We appreciate the work with the BCCI, and I agree with Mr Shah about the importance of Test cricket. We look forward to hosting his team, officials and supporters in what will be a fantastic series and the highlight of a busy summer.” Looking forward to cricket.”
in the last four test series Between the two sides, India has been the better team, winning all four. This includes consecutive Test series wins in Australia in 2018–19 and 2020–21 (by identical 2–1 margins).
In 2018–19, India became the first Asian team to win a Test series in Australia.
The Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been extended for this and subsequent series to acknowledge the status of nations competing in the 2023 ICC World Test Championship final, as well as their ongoing commitment to the premier international format of the game.
(With inputs from IANS)

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *