BCCI’s Big Statement On ‘Virat Kohli’s Decision’ To Skip Last 3 Tests vs England

Feb 10, 2024

Citing personal reasons, Virat Kohli has made himself unavailable for the remaining matches of the Test series against England. Kohli also could not play the first two Tests for the same reason. Apart from Kohli, Shreyas Iyer will also not take part in the remaining Test matches in Rajkot, Ranchi and Dharamshala respectively. Meanwhile, KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja returned to the team, but their participation will depend on the fitness clearance from the BCCI medical team. On Kohli's decision to remain unavailable for the remaining Tests, the BCCI said that they “respect and support” the former captain's decision.

“The men's selection committee announced India's squad for the final three Tests of the IDFC First Bank series against England,” the BCCI said in a statement.

“Virat Kohli will not be available for selection for the remainder of the series due to personal reasons. The Board fully respects and supports Mr Kohli's decision,” the statement said.

“The participation of Ravindra Jadeja and KL Rahul is subject to fitness clearance from the BCCI medical team.”

However, BCCI did not reveal the reason behind Iyer's absence from the remaining matches. The batsman has scored 35, 13, 27 and 29 in the first two tests.

On the other hand, Rahul and Jadeja could not play the second Test due to their respective injuries.

India defeated England by 106 runs in the second Test in Vizag to level the five-match series.

Bengal fast bowler Akash Deep received his first India Test call-up after being included in the squad in place of Avesh Khan, who will continue to play for Madhya Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy.

The third Test will begin on February 15, 2024, in Rajkot, while the fourth Test will begin on February 23, 2024, in Ranchi. The fifth and final Test of the series will be played in Dharamshala from March 07, 2024.

India team: Rohit Sharma (captain), Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul*, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (wk), KS Bharat (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja*, Akshar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep

Topics mentioned in this article

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *