‘Don’t Want To Fill Anybody’s Shoes’: Ruturaj Gaikwad Sets Record Straight On Replacing MS Dhoni As CSK Captain


It's a new IPL and Chennai Super Kings have a new captain in Ruturaj Gaikwad. On Thursday, Chennai Super Kings sprung a surprise by appointing Ruturaj Gaikwad as captain in place of MS Dhoni. Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, CSK won IPL 2023. But he had given enough hints that he will play a mentorship role in IPL 2024. Ruturaj Gaikwad said that MS Dhoni had hinted to him that he will lead CSK in 2023. He also made it clear that he wants to lead CSK in his own style.

“Feeling privileged. But I want to try to stay in my place, not fill anyone's place. (On captaincy) I got to know last week, but Mahi Bhai had hinted at it last year. Here Everyone is experienced, sadly we are missing Conway and Pathirana,” he said at the toss of the IPL 2024 opener.

“Although this year we have Rachin and Mitchell coming in, so they should fit in well. Looks to be a good pitch, a hard surface which should hold up well for the second innings. Four foreigners – Mitchell, Rachin, Fizz and Theekshana. Domestic player Sameer Rizvi is also making his debut.”

Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and elected to bat first against defending champions Chennai Super Kings in the first match of the Indian Premier League on Friday. The toss was delayed by 10 minutes after the star-studded opening ceremony.

Speaking at the toss, Faf du Plessis said, “We will bat first. Looks like a good wicket, the conditions here are going to be batting first. First time back here, great to see the Chennai fans again.” Felt but I'm here with RCB and hopefully we can make a very good CSK team. The preparation has been good, we just need to move on now. An experienced campaigner brings that experience. Really good. “Our bowling resources are well fitted. There will be more backup. Hopefully, injuries don't bother us too much. Alzarri Joseph came in tonight, he included some spinners in the middle. And since we are batting first, we We'll see how it goes.”

The host team is being led by Ruturaj Gaikwad. He was appointed captain of CSK a day before the opening of the tournament, replacing the legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who will continue to guide his successor on the field.

Twenty-year-old uncapped batsman Sameer Rizvi was given a chance to make his debut for CSK.

Teams: Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (captain), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Dinesh Karthik, Anuj Rawat (w), Karn Sharma, Alzarri Joseph, Mayank Dagar, Mohammed Siraj.

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Deepak Chahar, Mahesh Theekshana, Mustafizur Rahman, Tushar Deshpande.

With PTI inputs

Topics mentioned in this article

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *