JNU Student Election 2024: Check the candidate list of JNUSU Polls, as voting begins today


New Delhi: The Jawaharlal Nehru University The voting round of (JNU) Students' Union elections began today after a period of four years. According to reports, voting began with a slight delay due to selection of polling agents.
A total of 7,751 students are eligible to vote in the current elections. Following a student petition for reform electoral systemDelhi High Court appoints former Supreme Court judge Justice V Ramasubramaniam as observer J.N.S.U. Election. JNUSU vote result is expected to be declared on March 24, 2024 (Sunday).
JNUSU consists of four central panel posts: President, Vice President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary. It is noteworthy that ABVP has nominated Umesh Chandra Ajmira for the post of President and Deepika Sharma for the post of Vice President. United Left Alliance has fielded Dhananjay and Avijit Ghosh for the respective posts.
This election marks a comeback after a long gap due to the COVID-19 pandemic, which the previous JNUSU had won SFI candidate Aishi Ghosh In 2019, Left-backed student groups had previously formed an alliance under the banner of United-Left alliance In the 2019 elections, a strong collective front was demonstrated. Stay tuned for further updates on the unfolding JNUSU election scenario.
Who are the candidates contesting in JNUSU Elections 2024?
Probable candidates from ABVP include Umesh Chandra Ajmira, Arjun Anand, Govind Dangi, Deepika and Kavya. NSUI has put forward Kunal Kumar, Shuddhandhu Shekhar and Farheen Zaidi as probable candidates. Other candidates include Umesh Kumar Yadav from Students Federation of India, Swati Singh from Democratic Students Federation and Dhananjay from All India Students Association.
(with agency input)

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *