JNUSU Election 2024: Left sweeps JNU students’ union election, wins all four seats


New Delhi: The Left party swept the Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) Students' Union elections and won all four seats.
Voting for JNUSU elections was held on Friday, March 22 this year. After a gap of four years, JNU gets its next student union.
Left's Dhananjay was elected president by defeating ABVP's Umesh Chandra Ajmira. He got 2598 votes and Shailendra Kumar, chairman of the election committee at JNU, declared him the winner.
JNU Election Committee Chairman Shailendra Kumar said, “The names of the candidates for the post of President are – Dhananjay (Left) – 2598 votes, Umesh Chandra Ajmira (ABVP) – 1676 votes… I declare Dhananjay (Left) elected.” ”
Left's Avijit Ghosh won the vice president seat by defeating ABVP's Deepika Sharma with 2409 votes.
Kumar said, “The names of the candidates for the post of Vice President are Ankur Rai – 814, Avijit Ghosh (Left) – 2409 votes and Deepika Sharma (ABVP) – 1482 votes… I declare Avijit Ghosh (Left) elected. ” Said.
Priyanshi Arya, supported by Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students Association (BAPSA), became the General Secretary by getting 2887 votes. Left's Mo Sajid won the seat of Joint Secretary by 2574 votes.
“For the post of General Secretary, the names of the candidates are: Arjun Anand (ABVP) – 1961 votes, Fareen Zaidi – 436 votes, Priyanshi Arya (BAPSA, Left supported) – 2887 votes… I announce Priyanshi Arya (BAPSA, Left) I support) being elected,” said the JNU election committee chairman.
Newly elected president Dhananjay told ANI, “This is a victory for the students… Students have chosen the Left against fraud and funding cuts by the government.”
New vice president Avijit Ghosh said, “JNUSU elections are historic, it is being held after four years…JNUSU has always fought for the rights of students.”
The last JNUSU elections in 2019 were won by Aishe Ghosh, a candidate of leftist student organisation, SFI.
Left student organizations had formed an alliance to contest the 2019 elections under the banner of United-Left Alliance, which included the alliance of All India Students Association (AISA), Students Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Students Federation. (DSF), and All India Students Federation (AISF).

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *