JNUSU Election 2024: Who is Dhananjay? JNU’s First Dalit President Elected After Nearly 30 Years


In a historic victory, students of Jawaharlal Nehru University elected their first Dalit President from the Left alliance, ending a wait of nearly 30 years.
JNUSU elections were held after a gap of four years. Dhananjay, representing the left-affiliated All India Students Association (AISA), emerged victorious in the presidential race by a significant margin. He secured 2,598 votes, defeating his nearest rival Umesh C Ajmeera of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), who got 1,676 votes.
Who is Dhananjay?,
In a historic achievement, Dhananjay, a student from Gaya in Bihar, became the first Left-backed Dalit president of JNUSU in nearly three decades. This victory is an important milestone for Dalit representation in student unions.
During his election campaign, the PhD scholar from JNU's School of Arts and Aesthetics highlighted the burden of rising fees due to HEFA loans. He vowed to fight for better water, health and infrastructure on campus and advocated for the release of student leaders facing treason charges.
“The victory of JNU students is a referendum that they reject the politics of violence and hatred,” he told PTI. Once again, students have shown their confidence in us. We will continue to work on issues that affect students and fight for their rights.
According to PTI, Dhananjay said, “Safety of women on campus, funding cuts, scholarship increase, infrastructure and water crisis are among the top priorities of the student union.”
clean sweep left side
Students Federation of India (SFI) candidate Avijit Ghosh won the race for the post of JNUSU Vice President by a landslide. She gained a significant lead of 927 votes over her nearest rival Deepika Sharma of ABVP. Ghosh got 2,409 votes, while Sharma got 1,482 votes.
In a landslide victory for the Left-backed Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students' Association (BAPSA), Priyanshi Arya emerged victorious in the JNUSU general secretary election. Arya secured a massive lead of 926 votes over his nearest rival Arjun Anand of ABVP. He received a total of 2,887 votes compared to Anand's 1,961 votes.
The Left achieved a clean sweep in the JNUSU elections, with Mohammed Sajid winning the post of joint secretary by a margin of 508 votes, the lowest victory among Left candidates. The victory completes the dominance of the United Left Panel, comprising AISA, DSF, SFI and AISF.
The high turnout of 73% marked the highest student participation in JNUSU elections in the last twelve years, underscoring the strong participation in this year's elections.
(With inputs from PTI)

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *