Mayank Agarwal returns to lead Karnataka after fitness clearance |

Feb 6, 2024

New Delhi: Flexible opener Mayank Agarwal Has recently overcome the health crisis and is ready to resume his role as captain in the upcoming matches of Karnataka ranji trophy The Group C match against Tamil Nadu starts on Friday in Chennai.
After the match against Tripura, the Indian batsman suffered a worrying condition after drinking fluids during the team's flight to Surat.
The 32-year-old man was later admitted to hospital with burns to his mouth and throat.
As a result of this health scare, he was unable to participate in Karnataka's recent match against Railways.
Nevertheless, after a thorough medical checkup, he received a clean bill of health, eliminating any concerns of significant medical issues and paving the way for his return to the team.
Emerging batsman Nikin Jos led Karnataka against Railways in Agarwal's absence and the former champions secured a one-wicket win in Surat with the experienced batsman at the helm. Manish Pandey Scored an unbeaten half century.
Currently, Tamil Nadu leads Group C with 21 points, same as Karnataka. But TN leads the chart due to its better net run rate of 2.06.
Agarwal's return will provide a boost to his batting as the Karnataka opener has so far scored 310 runs in four matches at an average of 44 with two centuries and one half-century.
Karnataka has got further strength in batting as in-form Devdutt Padikkal will also be available for this match.
In three matches, the left-handed batsman has scored 369 runs at an average of 92.25 and two centuries.
Padikkal missed the last match as the 23-year-old was part of the India A team that faced England Lions in Ahmedabad.
Openers Dega Nischol and Abhishek Shetty were left out for Agarwal and Padikkal.
Karnataka team against Tamil Nadu: Mayank Agarwal (Captain), Nikin Jose (Vice-Captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Samarth R, Manish Pandey, Sharath Srinivas (WK), Anish KV, Vishak Vijayakumar, Vasuki Kaushik, Shasikumar K, Sujay Sateri (WK), Vidwath Kawerappa, Venkatesh M, Kishan S Bedare, Rohit Kumar AC, Hardik Raj.
coach: PV Shashikant.
(With inputs from PTI)

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *