MI vs CSK IPL Live Score: MS Dhoni in spotlight as Chennai Super Kings face Mumbai Indians


live now

Times of India | April 14, 2024, 16:19:04 IST

MI vs CSK IPL 2024 Live Score: The great Mahendra Singh Dhoni will be in the spotlight in what could be his last game at the iconic Wankhede Stadium when defending champions Chennai Super Kings take on Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League on Sunday.

Dhoni returned to the hallowed ground of Wankhede for the first time as a non-captain of CSK in what is likely his last IPL season. This will be his first appearance as a player for any team since November 2005.

Even at the age of 42, Dhoni's glove-work remains impeccable and his assessment of the game, as always, is impeccable. But CSK will hope that his tactical nous will also help them improve their disappointing record of suffering two defeats away from home this season.

CSK will also be hoping that their recent record against MI – four wins in the last five matches, including their seven-wicket win last season – holds them in good stead.

Two of the most successful IPL teams with five titles each, both sides are seeing a major change of leadership, with Hardik Pandya replacing Rohit Sharma at MI and Ruturaj Gaikwad replacing Dhoni at CSK. Lee, but there is nothing that suggests their intense rivalry. Some such change would be expected.

If anything, the CSK bowlers could be given a tough challenge by the aggressive MI batsmen, who have toiled hard on the flat pitches here, scoring over 230 against Delhi Capitals and almost total against Royal Challengers Bangalore. Spent more than four overs chasing 200 runs. Excessive.

Pandya's MI has found its groove after a poor start. Their batsmen have performed well in the last two encounters and Suryakumar Yadav's 17-ball half-century against RCB is an ominous sign for CSK's bowlers, who have shown mastery on the slow, turning pitches at Chepauk, but on the flat, They have not been tested on batting-friendly surfaces.

The opening partnership of Ishan Kishan (161 runs) and Rohit will thus be crucial in the scheme of things, but CSK will have a lot of assurance about their batting as well.

Captain Gaikwad may not be dangerous with the bat, but he could be the silent enabler in a CSK line-up that has the enthusiasm of Rachin Ravindra at the top, the power of Daryl Mitchell in the middle and the explosiveness of Shivam Dubey (176 runs). ), Ravindra Jadeja and Dhoni in the death overs.

CSK will also know that it will be important to watch the swashbuckling Jasprit Bumrah (10 wickets) and adapt to the rest of MI's bowling as the rest of the players have struggled with their line and length on calm surfaces, conceding runs at an alarming rate. ,

Despite Bumrah taking five wickets, MI scored at a high rate to allow RCB to get closer to 200 here a few nights ago.

For CSK, a lot will depend on Shardul Thakur and Tushar Deshpande, who have both returned to their home ground, but Mustafizur Rahman (9 wickets) and Chatur Jadeja will be the ones to keep an eye on given their recent exploits.

On their part, teams say “we want to score as many runs as possible” but looking at this, a score around 220-230 while batting first may be the best way to ensure a lead at this position.

Teams (from):
Mumbai Indians: Hardik Pandya (captain), Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Dewald Brevis, Jasprit Bumrah, Piyush Chawla, Gerald Coetzee, Tim David, Shreyas Gopal, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Anshul Kamboj, Kumar Karthikeya, Akash Madhwal, Quena Mafaka, Mohammad Nabi. , Shams Mulani, Naman Dheer, Shivalik Sharma, Romario Shepherd, Arjun Tendulkar, Nuwan Thushara, Tilak Verma, Harvik Desai, Nehal Wadhera, Luke Wood.

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (wk), Aravelly Avneesh (wk), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Sheikh Rashid, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dubey, RS Hungerkar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Jadav Mandal, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Nishant Sindhu, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Mukesh Chaudhary, Mustafizur Rahman, Mathisha Pathirana, Simarjeet Singh, Prashant Solanki, Shardul Thakur, Mahish Theekshana, Sameer Rizvi.
read less

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *