Mumbai end eight-year drought, clinch 42nd Ranji Trophy title | Cricket News


New Delhi: Domestic powerhouse Mumbai ended their eight-year title drought by winning the prestigious title. ranji trophy The tournament came to a thrilling conclusion for a record 42nd time on Thursday.
Prestigious Wankhede Stadium Saw Mumbai's victory as they defeated a resilient player Vidarbha By 169 runs on the fifth and final day of the thrilling summit clash.
Scorecard: Ranji Trophy Final
The fate of the final, Mumbai's 48th appearance in the history of the prestigious tournament, was decided when the hosts set a challenging target of 538 runs for the visiting team Vidarbha.
Despite a valiant effort by the Vidarbha captain Akshay WadkarWho showed remarkable resilience with his first century of the year, and Harsh Dubey, who contributed a vital half-century, Mumbai emerged victorious after an unexpected battle that enthralled the fans over the last two days.

Wadkar's brilliant century and Dubey's brilliant half-century inspired Vidarbha's resistance and they frustrated Mumbai for long periods of the game. However, Mumbai's relentless bowling attack, led by Tanush Kotian's four wickets and Tushar Deshpande's crucial breakthroughs, ultimately dismantled Vidarbha's flexible batting lineup.
With this win, Mumbai added another glorious chapter to their prestigious cricket legacy, while Vidarbha, despite their commendable effort, suffered defeat in the Ranji Trophy final for the third time after winning two titles.
Mumbai's Ranji win marks a triumphant return to the pinnacle of domestic cricket, ending their eight-year wait for glory like a fairy tale for the veteran cricketer. Dhawal KulkarniWho said goodbye to all formats of the game with the last wicket of the match.

Brief Score:
Mumbai: 224 and 418
Vidarbha: 105 and 368 (Atharva Tayde 32, Aman Mokhade 32, Karun Nair 74, Akshay Wadkar 102; Tanush Kotian 4/95) 169 runs in 134.4 overs.
(With inputs from PTI)

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *