Under-19 World Cup: Skipper Uday Saharan, Three Other Indians In Team Of The Tournament

Feb 12, 2024

Four Indian players, including captain Uday Saharan and star batsman Musheer Khan, were included in the Under-19 World Cup squad of the tournament announced by the ICC on Monday. Batsmen Sachin Dhasa and Soumya Pandey are the other Indian players in the team. India finished runners-up after a 79-run defeat to Australia in the title match here on Sunday, ending their unbeaten run in the tournament. Australia captain Hugh Wiebgen has been given the honor of leading a star-studded lineup selected by a panel of media, broadcasting and ICC representatives.

Champions Australia have three players in the line-up, South Africa have two named – including player of the tournament Kwena Mafaka – and West Indies and Pakistan have one player each.

India's Musheer is ranked third as the only batsman to register two centuries during the competition.

Despite a slow finish to the tournament, Musheer showed plenty of early promise, including a wide range of attacking shots as well as the ability to take wickets with left-arm spin.

The top run-scorer for the event, Saharan played a key role in India's dominance till the final.

Scoring consistently throughout the event and registering a century against Nepal, Saharan saved his best performance for the thrilling semi-final against South Africa, pulling India back from the brink of elimination with a crucial 81 runs to book their place in the final. Made sure.

Saharan's primary partner that day was Dhaas, and the right-hander also earns a place in the team of the tournament due to his ability to relieve pressure situations and innovative and aggressive strokeplay. He scored 116 runs against Nepal and made the highest score of 96 runs against South Africa.

Completing the lineup is Pandey, whose left-arm spin yielded 18 wickets – the most by any spinner in the tournament.

With supreme ability to bowl economical spells, Pandey was inspirational in the early stages in Bloemfontein, highlighted by his performances in wins over Bangladesh (four wickets for 24 runs) and New Zealand (four wickets for 19 runs).

South Africa's Luan-Dre Pretorius took the gloves and also led the batting order, after a series of impressive and explosive performances in the Proteas' semi-final lead.

Australia's Harry Dixon partners Pretorius at the top of the order after a stellar tournament and some invaluable contributions in the knockout stages.

At number four is Wiebgen, who played a key role in Australia's fourth U19 Men's World Cup title, providing valuable runs and making intelligent decisions on the field, which led to another successful campaign.

West Indies all-rounder Nathan Edwards performed brilliantly for the team, especially during the win against England in Potchefstroom, taking three wickets and scoring 49 runs in a high-pressure chase.

Australia's Callum Vidler enjoyed plenty of pace and bounce on South African surfaces and posed a constant threat to the batsmen throughout the competition.

Ubaid Shah was in great form for Pakistan, leading their bowling attack and displaying lethal pace, leading to his team's victories over New Zealand (three wickets for 30 runs) and Bangladesh (five wickets for 44 runs). Got important wickets.

Mafaka made a splash at the World Cup from day one. Pace and swing in the dramatic win over West Indies on the opening day saw him take his first five-wicket haul of three, and the fast bowler never looked back, producing impressive performances in wins over Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka.

ICC Team of the Tournament (batting order) Luan-Dre Pretorius (SA) (wk), Harry Dixon (AUS), Musheer Khan, Hugh Wiebgen (AUS) (captain), Uday Saharan, Sachin Dhaas, Nathan Edwards (West Indies) , Callum Vidler (AUS), Ubaid Shah (PAK), Kwena Mafaka (SA), Soumi Pandey and Jamie Dunk (SCO). (Indian unless specified).

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Topics mentioned in this article

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *