Virat Kohli to miss remaining Tests against England as selectors name squads; KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja back | Cricket News

Feb 10, 2024

New Delhi: As expected and reported, the former India captain Virat Kohli Was not nominated in squad declared by the national selectors on Saturday for the remaining three Test matches against England.
Kohli missed the first two tests He will also keep forgiving himself for personal reasons.
“Virat Kohli will not be available for selection for the remainder of the series due to personal reasons. The Board fully respects and supports Kohli's decision,” the BCCI said in a statement.
National Selection Committee has selected senior players Ravindra Jadeja And KL Rahul The team is pending clearance from the BCCI medical team. Both players are struggling with injuries, with Jadeja suffering from a hamstring problem and Rahul feeling a slight tear in his right quadricep.
“The participation of Ravindra Jadeja and KL Rahul is subject to fitness clearance from the BCCI medical team,” the BCCI statement said.
However, the medical condition of senior batsman Shreyas Iyer, who has been ruled out of the squad due to groin and lower back stiffness, remains unknown by the BCCI.
It has been speculated that Iyer would have been left out despite his injury, making the selectors' decision more straightforward.
The 17-member squad includes a new face in the form of Bengal fast bowler Akash Deep, who has been rewarded for his consistent performances in first-class cricket and the recent India A vs England Lions Test series.
To accommodate Jadeja's return, left-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar has been left out of the squad, while fast bowler Mohammed Siraj has replaced Avesh Khan in the lineup. The addition of Siraj has strengthened the fast bowling department, giving additional depth to the Indian bowling attack.
The five-match series is tied 1-1 and the third Test will begin on February 15 in Rajkot.
India squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul*, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (wk), KS Bharat (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja*, Akshar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep

Ind vs Eng Test Series: Sarfaraz Khan called for the first time from India for the second test against England

(With inputs from PTI)

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *